A look at some air engine working cycles

1 The Stirling cycle
1 The Rider or Compression engine
1 The Ericsson cycle
1 The Ringbom cycle, named after the inventor Ossian Ringbom of Helsinki, Finland.
1 Free Piston engines
1 The Manson cycle. A valved single piston/displacer engine so called after a design by A.D Manson published in Newnes Pratical Mechanics in 1952. The design also appears in a patent granted in Germany to Michael Ruppel in 2000.